Tuesday, October 1

Ted Cruz Really is an Idiot

We all have been watching the recent political soap opera with high interest. It was great to see Ted Cruz filibuster for 21 hours, unlike John Boner--I mean, Boehner (why can't I get that right?)--and John "Ancient Gasbag" McCain, who attacked him for it (along with other Republicans). Finally, there was somebody who was going to take a stand against....wait, what? 

Exactly. It's nice to know that Republicans are against Obamacare. But what are they for? I'm having a hard time supporting the home team in this shutdown because I don't know what they are counter proposing. Apparently they have an alternative to the ACA, but after the opening announcement was made, it faded very fast, and there has been no further mention of it. The Republicans aren't selling their plan. They are so busy telling us what they're against, we have no idea what they're for. In other words, they are giving no reason for even us, the hard core base, to support them. The talking heads have better ideas than the people we vote for. Perhaps we need to elect Greg Gutfeld, TV's Andy Levy, and Greg's repulsive sidekick Bill Schultz to run the country.

I watched Ted Cruz on The O'Reilly Factor tonight, where Mr. O came up with very good points pretty much echoing the above, and all Cruz did was repeat the party line. I've tried getting my liberal friends (everybody needs one!) to explain why they think Cruz is an idiot (that's all they seem to say about him) and all they can do is intensify the word idiot. I think they're right. All Cruz said in response to Mr. O's remarks is that it's the Democrats fault. They aren't negotiating. Bla bla bla. He really is an idiot. In the face of terrific common-sense, Cruz dug in his heels....for what? GIVE US A REASON TO SUPPORT YOU! GIVE US SOMETHING TO WORK WITH! It's great that you're against something, but WHAT ARE YOU FOR??????

All I know for sure is that Ted Cruz likes White Castle hamburgers. He said so during his filibuster. But everybody likes White Castle....unless you're a communist.

So enjoy the shutdown, I guess. I have no idea what the plan is. I don't think even John Boner--I mean, Boehner (dammit!)--knows. It seems the GOP is flailing in the dark, and since Cruz is Canadian, that should terrify him (because Canadians don't like the dark) but he's apparently acclimated. All we know is that the GOP doesn't like Obama. Or something. Does anybody have a flipping idea what we're doing here?


BRIAN DRAKE is a broadcaster in California and the author of The Rogue Gentleman, a thriller in the tradition of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor. Follow him on Twitter.

No comments:

CBC Forum - User Submitted News

CBC Forum - Elections

Recent Posts

Click Here To Become A Conservative Blogs Central Blogger

Back to TOP